Welcome to Website of Prof. Saraju P. Mohanty

Main Content

Dr. Saraju P. Mohanty is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE), University of North Texas (UNT), Denton, TX; a Tier-One (R1) Research University as per Carnegie Classification, where he directs the Smart Electronic Systems Laboratory (SESL). Prof. Mohanty was conferred the Glorious India Award in 2017 for his exemplary contributions to the discipline. He received Society for Technical Communication (STC) 2017 Award of Merit for his outstanding contributions to IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine. He was the recipient of 2016 PROSE Award for best Textbook in Physical Sciences & Mathematics from the Association of American Publishers (AAP) for his book titled "Nanoelectronic Mixed-Signal System Design" published by McGraw-Hill in 2015. He was conferred 2016-17 UNT Toulouse Scholars Award for sustained excellent scholarship and teaching achievements. He has been recognized as a IEEE Distinguished Lecturer by the Consumer Electronics Society (CESoc) in 2017. Prof. Mohanty's research is in "Smart Electronic Systems". Prof. Mohanty's research has been funded by many agencies including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), and the US Air Force. Dr. Mohanty is an inventor of 4 US patents. Prof. Mohanty is an author of 250 peer-reviewed articles and 3 books. His Google Scholar h-index is 29 and i10-index is 85.


Prof. Mohanty has been serving on the editorial board of several peer-reviewed international journals, including IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems (TCAD), ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems (JETC), and IET Circuits, Devices & Systems Journal (CDS). He is currently the Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine (CEM). He serves as a founding Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the VLSI Circuits and Systems Letter (VCAL). He has been serving as a guest editor for many prestigious journals including ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems (JETC) and IEEE Transactions on Emerging Topics in Computing (TETC). Prof. Mohanty currently serves as the Chair of Technical Committee on Very Large Scale Integration (TCVLSI), IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS) to oversee a dozen of IEEE conferences. He serves on the steering, organizing, and program committees of several international conferences. He is the founding steering committee chair for the IEEE International Symposium on Smart Electronic Systems (iSES), steering committee vice-chair of the IEEE-CS Symposium on VLSI (ISVLSI), and steering committee vice-chair of the OITS International Conference on Information Technology (ICIT). Prof. Mohanty is the Conference Chair of ICCE 2018, the flagship Conference of IEEE CE Society, which is co-located with International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) as its research/education component; CES is the world's largest CE show with 3,800 exhibiting companies, 300 conference sessions and more than 165,000 attendees from 150 countries.

Prof. Mohanty has supervised 9 Ph.D. dissertations and 26 M.S. theses. Eight of his advisees have received outstanding students awards at UNT. The students are very well placed in the industry and academia. He has received Honors Day recognition as an inspirational faculty at UNT for multiple years. He has also received UNT Provost’s Thank a Teacher recognition for multiple years.

Prof. Mohanty obtained a Ph.D. in Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) in 2003, from the University of South Florida (USF), Tampa, a top-tier institution that ranks among the top Universities in the USA and the world, and has significant reputation in the area of Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) research. His Masters degree in Systems Science and Automation is from the highest ranked research institute from India, the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, in 1999. He obtained a Bachelors degree with Honors in Electrical Engineering from the top-ranked Government Engineering College of the state of Odisha, the College of Engineering and Technology at Bhubaneswar (CETB), Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT), Bhubaneswar, India, in 1995. He is considered a notable alumnus of all the schools that he attended for his undegraduate and graduate studies. He was conferred with the President’s Scout Award by the Honorable President of India in 1988.

When we were born, we were crying & everyone around us was smiling; let us live our life in such a way that when we would die, we would be smiling & everyone around us would be crying.

Let us try to be immortal !!!

Last updated on 19 Apr 2018 (Thu).
© Saraju P. Mohanty